Social Work Home

Hamovitch Research

The Research Council promotes the USC Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work’s institutional interests in scientific research productivity. The council comprises seven faculty members: four members are elected from a pool of faculty with principal investigator experience on research or research training grants, two members are elected from all faculty lines and ranks within the school, and one member is appointed from the pool of research cluster directors.

The Research Council chair must be on the tenure line and is selected from among the seven Research Council members and confirmed by the dean. There are three ex-officio members: the two associate deans of research and the PhD program director.

The mission of the Hamovitch Research Council is:

  • To promote peer-reviewed scientific research from public and private funding sources
  • To promote the USC Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work's institutional interests in terms of development of research and scientific careers
  • To build a culture of cooperation and inclusiveness in the service of the scientific mission

The council oversees, supports and evaluates the performance of the research deans, providing recommendations to the dean and Faculty Council on hiring priorities and assisting with the development of the research center's annual budget.

Responsibilities of the scientific research dean include maintaining methodology and biostatistics support; developing a mentoring program for junior faculty and postdoctoral students; organizing workshops, seminars and training sessions; and assisting with budget preparations. This position also develops research clusters, promotes communication within the research center and updates the center's five-year strategic plan.

The administrative research dean hires information technology, editorial and grant support personnel and provides broad oversight of the research center, including the development and submission of grant award proposals. This role also involves developing and maintaining external relations and promoting internationalization of the school research infrastructure.

Research Council

Tenured/Tenure Track
Karen Lincoln (Chair)
Lawrence Palinkas
Suzanne Wenzel
Eric Rice

At-Large Representatives
Daniel Hackman
Terence Fitzgerald

Ex-officio Members
Charles Kaplan
Haluk Soydan
Michael Hurlburt